Home » About Us » One Ilfracombe Board

One Ilfracombe Board

Delivery Structure

The need to restructure and ‘rewire public services’ to suit the individual and community, and not
the agency was identified by the partners. A credible, non-political, business-minded and
locally-led body, free from the often paralysing constraints of the public sector, would be needed if
services were to be delivered more efficiently and effectively. If it was to be truly locally-led, it would
need more than a few individuals sitting on the body acting as community representatives.

The formation of two separate but interlinked sustainable and credible bodies was therefore agreed:
1) a body that would represent the community (Ilfracombe Town Council has taken on this role), and
2) a body that would co-ordinate public services and other activities in the town

A not-for-profit company limited by guarantee was formed with the following organisations as members:

  • Ilfracombe Town Council
  • Devon County Council
  • North Devon Council
  • Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue Service
  • North Devon Homes
  • North Devon Healthcare Trust
  • The council and partner agencies nominated their own Board Directors.
  • The independent Director positions were advertised for 2 weeks in the North Devon Journal, on the Town Council’ s Facebookpage, in the Ilfracombe Centre window, and distributed to community groups within the town.

The interview panel was appointed by the Steering Group and made up of representatives from
Ilfracombe Town Council, Devon County Council and Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue.

One Ilfracombe Board Directors

  • Cllr Rodney Donovan – Chair – Ilfracombe Town Council
  • Cllr Paul Crabb – Vice Chair – Devon County Council
  • Dan Turton – Company Secretary – Independent Director
  • Neil Blackburn – Devon & Somerset Fire and Rescue
  • Pete French – Independent Director
  • Marc Rostock – North Devon Homes
  • Dr John Womersley – NHS
  • Lorraine Horton – Independent Director
  • Marc Newland – Independent Director
  • Cllr Rodney Cann – North Devon Council
  • Sheila Roles – Independent Director
  • John Roles – Independent Director

One Ilfracombe Associate Directors

  • Paul Searle – Devon & Cornwall Police
  • Andrea Beacham – North Devon Healthcare Trust
  • Andy Moore – Devon Partnership Trust
  • Hiliary Burr – North Devon Volunteer Service