Benefits Advice

Assessments & Paying For Care

If you, a relative or someone you care for wants help from social care services you will need to have a social care assessment. There is also information about the …

If you, a relative or someone you care for wants help from social care services you will need to have a social care assessment.
There is also information about the Mental Capacity Act and managing someone else’s affairs if they are unable to and how you can get someone to speak on your behalf.
Information also included on:

  • Getting a social care assessment
  • Social care support
  • Direct Payments
  • Personal budgets
  • Paying for residential care
  • Paying for nursing care
  • Managing someone else’s affairs
  • Someone to speak on your behalf
  • Money and benefits
  • End of life care and planning

Benefits Telephone Numbers

JSA, ESA, IS – new benefit claims – 0800 055 6688, www.gov.uk/jobseekers-allowance/how-to-claim JSA, ESA, IS – existing benefit claims – 0345 608 8545 Maternity Allowance – 0345 608 8610, www.gov.uk/maternity-allowance …

  • JSA, ESA, IS – new benefit claims – 0800 055 6688, www.gov.uk/jobseekers-allowance/how-to-claim
  • JSA, ESA, IS – existing benefit claims – 0345 608 8545
  • Maternity Allowance – 0345 608 8610, www.gov.uk/maternity-allowance
  • Bereavement – 0345 608 8601, www.gov.uk/bereavement-allowance
  • Social Fund – 0345 306 6979, www.gov.uk
  • Funeral Payments – www.gov.uk/funeral-payments
  • Maternity Grants – www.gov.uk/sure-start-maternity-grant
  • Budgeting Loans – www.gov.uk/budgeting-loans
  • Universal Credit – 0345 600 0723, www.gov.uk/universal-credit
  • Jobcentre – 0345 604 3719, www.gov.uk/jobsearch
  • Job Seeker Direct Service – 0345 606 0234
  • PIP – 0800 917 2222, 0345 580 3322, www.gov.uk/pip
  • Disability Living Allowance – 0345 712 3456, www.gov.uk/dla-disability-living-allowance-benefit
  • Pension Credit – 0800 991 1234, 0345 606 0265, www.gov.uk/pension-credit
  • State Retirement Pension – new claim – 0800 731 7898, www.gov.uk/state-pension-statement
  • State Retirement Pension – change in circumstances – 0345 606 0265
  • Winter Fuel Payments – www.gov.uk/winter-fuel-payment
  • Child Tax Credit – 0345 300 3900, www.gov.uk/child-tax-credit
  • Working Tax Credit – 0345 300 3900, www.gov.uk/working-tax-credit
  • National Insurance Number – new app -0345 600 0643, www.gov.uk/apply-national-insurance-number
  • National Insurance Number – lost number – 0300 200 3502, www.gov.uk/lost-national-insurance-number
  • Carers Allowance – new claim – 0345 608 4321, www.gov.uk/carers-allowance
  • Carers Allowance – change in circumstances – 0345 608 4321
  • Child Benefit – 0300 200 3100, www.gov.uk/child-benefits
  • Inland Revenue Tax Credits – 0345 300 3900, www.gov.uk/claim-tax-credits
  • CAB – Ilfracombe – 01271 855300 (reception to make appt on Mon or Tues)
  • CAB – Barnstaple – 0344 411 1444, www.adviceguide.org.uk/
  • Police General Enq – 101
  • Devon Home Choice – 01752 305 496, www.devonhomechoice.com/

 

 

Citizen’s Advice Bureau (CAB)

Free, independent, confidential and impartial advice to everyone on their rights and responsibilities.

  • Benefits
  • Consumer Rights
  • Debt & Money
  • Discrimination
  • Education
  • Healthcare
  • Housing
  • Law
  • Relationships
  • Tax
  • Work & Employment

Appointments are booked on the day at the Ilfracombe Centre on:
Monday & Tuesday, 10 – 1:30pm

 

Devon Welfare Rights Unit

Devon Welfare Rights Unit provides support services to Devon organisations whose work involves advising people about entitlement to benefits. It is a second tier welfare rights service. This means that we provide support services to organisations rather than directly to members of the public.

Direct Payments

Direct Payments are designed to give you more flexibility and control over your life and your support. You can use the payments to buy whatever you need to best meet the outcomes in your support plan.
Firstly you need to have a social care needs assessment.
Specialist Direct Payments Team members can talk to you about your options and can provide support with all aspects of the process including filling in forms, keeping financial records and employing people to help you.
Open: Monday – Friday 9am – 5pm

 

Encompass South West

Contact Lucy for an appointment. She is available at the Ilfracombe Centre at 10am to 1pm every Monday and at Transform4Work every Friday 10-1pm

Advise and information given on a variety of issues including:

  • Money advice
  • Benefit checks
  • Housing benefits
  • Debt advice and help with debt management plans and relief orders
  • Budgeting
  • Volunteering
  • PIP/Benefit forms
  • IVA’s

 

 

Freedom Centre

Open Monday to Friday 12noon till 4pm. Advice given on welfare benefits and many other issues The day centre provides a safe, welcoming, non-judgemental environment where people are accepted no …

  • Open Monday to Friday 12noon till 4pm. Advice given on welfare benefits and many other issues
  • The day centre provides a safe, welcoming, non-judgemental environment where people are accepted no matter what their current situation. A small team of project workers and volunteers support the clients in a wide range of ways
  • Free hot meal every day
  • Help with debt issues
  • Advice on welfare benefits
  • Dealing with addiction
  • Health diet and fitness
  • Shower, clothes store and laundry
  • Work club – advice on how to get a job, use of computers & internet
  • Computer and internet access
  • TV Lounge, pool tables, table tennis
  • Gym
  • Commercial training kitchen
  • Clothes store

 

GOV.UK

For advice on:

  • Apprenticeships
  • Cyberbullying
  • Bereavement
  • Blue badge application
  • Carers & Disability Benefits
  • Consumer Rights
  • Child Benefit
  • Civil Legal Advice
  • Families
  • Heating & Housing Benefits
  • Income Tax
  • Job Seekers Allowance
  • Pensions
  • Tax Credits

 

Local Welfare Support

Local Welfare Support is available through North Devon Council (NDC).

NDC will take your details and refer you to the Local Welfare Support advisor who will arrange an appointment to see you.

This service can help with:

  • ‘White goods’ eg: cooker or fridge (not washing machines) – one white good available per person.
  • Removals if the person has lived in Devon for over 6 months.
  • Furniture from ‘Jigsaw’
  • Help with rent in advance and deposits.

There are eligibility criteria involved and you must be claiming JSA or ESA,

 

Macmillan CAB

Macmillan and the Citizens Advice Bureau offer a specialist support service if you are suffering from a serious illness or if you are caring for someone with a life limiting illness. Phil can give you a one to one service and even visit you in your home to help you with a number of issues including:

  • Benefits
  • Debts
  • Housing
  • Employment